David Lanz – Songs From an English Garden

29 01 2009

david-lanz-songs-from-an-english-garden-fDavid Lanz – Songs From an English Garden
MP3 @ 320 Kbps | 50:02 min | 124 MB | 1998 | 10% Recovery Record

As David Lanz demonstrates Songs From an English Garden, his first ambition in life was to be a rock & roll pianist based on the music he grew up with in the ’60s. Having done brilliant orchestral, rock, and solo piano versions of Moody Blues, Procol Harum, and Beatles classics throughout his discography, this colorful new tribute to the British Invasion can be seen as simply an extension, a case of the more, the merrier. No doubt his main obstacle laid in not creating muzak versions of these well worn hits, and his arrangements — and use of unusual instrumentation and vibrant guest shots by Dave Koz and Herb Alpert — reflect careful respect on his part. Lanz plays Peralta bells, for instance, on a percussive take of the Hollies’ “Bus Stop,” and creates a staccato, stop and start effect combining piano and orchestra. He asks original Procol Harum organist Matthew Fisher to add a touch of blues to the castanet clapping Latin vibe of that band’s hit “Conquistador” and swings through a brassy rendition of “Tuesday Afternoon,” alternating ivory registers (as the original did) and adding the ’70s touch of the Wurlitzer electric piano. Dealing with simple melodies like “I’ll Follow the Sun” and “Ferry Cross the Mersey,” he also creates original passages that introduce the main tune, while stripping down to basics on a poignant rendition of “Strawberry Fields Forever.” That same tender grace characterizes the original title track as well as the other original piece, the rainy day portrait “London Blue,” which provides an appropriate setting for some of British rock’s most beloved treasures.


01. Sitting in An English Garden (03:45)
02. As Tears Go By-ruby Tuesday (04:03)
03. Bus Stop (04:58)
04. Ferry Across the Mersey (03:52)
05. Tuesday Afternoon (06:25)
06. I’ll Follow the Sun (03:17)
07. Conquistador (04:09)
08. A Summer Song (03:26)
09. London Blue (03:31)
10. Girl (03:47)
11. Sunny Afternoon (04:55)
12. Strawberry Fields Forever (04:00)

RapGet Friendly Links:




2 responses

30 01 2009

Nice post thanks :)

30 01 2009

You’re most welcome! Thanks for stopping by =_)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: