Tim Story & Joachim Roedelius – Inlandish

20 04 2009

albumartlargeTim Story & Joachim Roedelius – Inlandish
MP3 @ 320 Kbps | 50:06 min | 2008 | 101 MB | 10% Recovery Record

A sequel to the acclaimed Lunz project, this follow-up finds Hans-Joachim Roedelius and Tim Story shedding their original collaborative moniker in favour of recording under their own names. It’s great to hear the Cluster and Harmonia veteran in such fine form (he’ll be 74 this year), making effortlessly graceful ambient music that still sounds like it’s at the very forefront of the genre. Inlandish is bound to prompt comparisons to Ryuichi Sakamoto or Harold Budd for the glowing, meditative piano pieces at the heart of the record, but the kind of electronic treatments and additional instrumentation reaches beyond any single theme, with some compositions simply augmented by ghostly strands of cello, while others more fully embrace digital manipulation, as on ‘Serpentining’; a melding of melodic piano and humming circuitry. Of course, there’s some great synth work on the album too, particularly when it comes to the vintage krautrock tones of ‘Beforst’, a piece wonderfully redolent of Roedelius’ past. Excellent.  (For DX)

01 – As It Were
02 – Inlandish
03 – Trouve¦ü
04 – Downriver
05 – Ripple and Fade
06 – Rooftree
07 – Serpentining
08 – House of Glances
09 – The Orchardist
10 – Riddled
11 – Befrost
12 – Intermittent Haiku

Part 1 | Part 2

RapGet Friendly Links:




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: