Brian Crain – Piano Opus

23 04 2009

brian-crain-piano-opusBrian Crain – Piano Opus
MP3 @ 320 Kbps | 49:23 min | 2009 | 139 MB | 10% Recovery Record

“When I started working on my album Piano Opus in the summer of 2008, I didn’t have the faintest idea what I wanted to compose.  This being my thirteenth album, I found it challenging to write something fresh.  I listened to many other composers in an effort to spark inspiration.  I was surprised by how many albums lose their appeal after the first few songs.  So I set out to create a solo piano album that can keep the listener’s interest all the way through.”

“I found that  one of the main reasons so many other composers’ songs sounded similar was that they were written in the same time signatures.  Most music is written in 4/4 or 3/4 time.  So I set out to write a song in complex time.  I chose 5/4 for my first attempt.  I didn’t realize how difficult it would be to play in 5/4, let alone compose in it.  I carried on my experiment for a couple of months until I composed the song titled Wind.”

“After the exhausting work of composing in 5/4, I tried to go back to composing in common time (4/4 or 3/4), but I now felt more comfortable writing in complex time.  So I continued my complex time adventure and wrote an additional song in 5/4, then three in 7/8 and one in 11/8.  I was having so much fun that I often wondered if others would think that I was off my rocker.  I hope you think I’m still rocking. ;)” ~ Brian Crain (From cd insert)

Tracklist:
01 – Wind
02 – Earth
03 – Water
04 – Fire
05 – Rain
06 – Spring
07 – Summer
08 – Autumn
09 – Winter
10 – Snow
11 – Ice
12 – Canon in D

Download: (New Links)
Part 1 | Part 2

RapGet Friendly Links: (New Links)
http://rapidshare.com/files/225652877/BCPO.part1.rar
http://rapidshare.com/files/225652861/BCPO.part2.rar


Actions

Information

12 responses

24 04 2009
HotelsInLaughlinNevada

excellent compilation!!!

24 04 2009
QuietMusic

@Laughlin
Thank you! Hope you are enjoying what you have found here.

25 04 2009
night_listener

links are broken… can you reupload it? thx in advance

25 04 2009
QuietMusic

@Night_listener
Thank you very much for letting me know. Have the reupload going right now. Will be done shortly and then I’ll update the links.

25 04 2009
al

all links of the Brian Crain are broken.

26 04 2009
Shadow

Another Brian Crain, thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!!

27 04 2009
QuietMusic

@Al
Unfortunately, the Brian Crain links tend to go dead rather quickly. Right now I’m working on the portal solution, and so reuploading them will have to wait a bit. I’m sorry for that, but as it stands right now, there is only so much time available, and I need to make the best use of it.

27 04 2009
QuietMusic

@Shadow
You’re most welcome! Thought you might like this one =_).

6 05 2009
Spirit

Unfortunatelly, all links are down…

I will wait new links because i consider Brian Crain as one of the best pianist i have ever heard. Highly recommended too is Michael Whalen – My Secret Heart (2005) A gem !!!

Thanks a lot for sharing and for your patience we will wait for other links.

8 05 2009
QuietMusic

@Spirit
Thank you so much for the recommendation! I’ll see if I can locate it =_). The new portal is being worked on right now and I will hopefully have a working model up and running by late tonight.

9 05 2009
Pam

Is there a CD for this album to be purchased & where?

11 05 2009
QuietMusic

@Pam
Yes, there is an album that you can purchase here – http://www.briancrain.com/albumsframe.html. Hope this is what you were looking for =-).

Leave a comment